Good intentions….

The road to

Another of my wonderful writer friends has stepped forward to help me fill this space with deepish thoughts our fellow scribblers can ponder. Thank you, Pam Olinto, for your insight. But more importantly, thanks for being who you are and for doing all that you do. It’s easy to see why you are loved. Herewith, Pam’s thoughts on this strange craft we call writing:

I applaud all ye intrepid writers who squelch all misgivings and self-publish. While I consider myself somewhat brave, the whole publishing experience, to me, is akin to walking into a formal event stark naked, with only my surgical scars for accessories. Plus, those irritating voices inside also conspire against me.

What will you do with your book after you publish it? If it’s a memoir, your family won’t read it. Why would anyone else? The same goes for a novel, a story, a picture book…What if people think your writing is terrible? What if you’ve made a ton of embarrassing mistakes?

I could continue sharing my personal demons, but here’s the problem. A year ago, I happy camperfinished writing a chapter book about a twelve-year-old girl and her annoying three-year-old brother. Towards the end, I felt satisfied to have actually completed something. But over the past twelve months, I have felt my writing changing and hopefully, progressing. I know I would no longer be happy with my earlier work and would need to rewrite much of it. Plus, I have begun a sequel with frequent references to events in the first book making it complete in itself. And then there are the other genres….

In the meantime, my brother’s wife has divorced him for the Romanian tennis pro who fathered her baby; my DNA test suggests my father may not be my father; my house is threatening to turn me in to Hoarders Anonymous—all the normal real life issues that get in the way of thought processes and project completion.

But all is not lost because I enjoy the delight I see in my friends faces while they await the completed, published copies of their latest works. I long to be a part of that exciting new club made possible by the latest electronic advances.

Elbow-GreaseI’m like my youngest son who asked me where he could buy some elbow grease which the head of ROTC told him he needed for his shoes. Where can I get some courage–that doesn’t come from a bottle?

Pam Olinto

[Note from Josh: Although I’ve been after Pam to submit her work for publication somewhere if she chooses not to publish it herself, she hasn’t taken that step, yet. But I still harbor hope, and I look forward to the day when everyone can read her wonderful stories.]

About joshlangston

Grateful and well-loved husband, happy grandparent, novelist, editor, and teacher. My life plate is full, and I couldn't be happier. Anything else I might add would be anticlimactic. Cheers!
This entry was posted in editing, Guest posts, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Good intentions….

  1. Joan Page says:

    HI Pam and Josh, This is outstanding (and gave me some good laughs, too!) How come I related to every word of this as a fellow writer ? Oh yeah, that’s because Pam hit the head on the nail for all of us! Miss seeing you two! Joan

  2. Betty Smith says:

    Well done, Pam.

  3. lizziecant says:

    Again, Pam, you demonstrate what a really good writer you are, regardless of all those voices in your head! I have met Maddy and Auggie; both deserve to be set free.

  4. An-l says:

    Well written Pam. I look forward to reading your published book one day soon myself. You are an outstanding gifted writer and friend. One I cherish. I’ve learned so many lessons from you, not only from your gift of writing, but from the amazing way you so willingly show compassion for those who need it. Thanks for all the encouragement you give me with my attempt to become a better writer.

  5. Sonya says:

    Loved it, Pam. When are you going to publish? Do it soon, will ya’!

Leave a Reply

