How much is enough?

ImageWriters can be very competitive folk, especially when it comes to the topic of production. Like people in any other profession, some writers exaggerate while others are painfully honest. I know several who claim to churn out amazing quantities of prose, yet they publish very little. They can’t all be completely full of crap, can they?

Yes and no. Some writers refuse to publish independently. Therefore, they’re locked into what used to be called the “traditional” publishing route, though as we’ve seen, the tradition of sending your work to agents or editors with no thought of self-publishing is not the way it’s always been done, despite what the Big Five would have you believe.

Not that there’s anything wrong with having your book picked up by Simon and Schuster or HarperCollins or any other publisher of note. I’ll gladly stand and applaud anyone who can traverse the obstacle course that leads to publication in the “traditional” manner. A few people who publish this way will achieve wealth and fame. Their books will be picked up by celebrities and other influential folk, and overnight the writer’s names will become the subject of late-night talk shows and book clubs. There will be a bidding war for the movie rights, and editors will complain that they never got the chance to look at any of the manuscripts before somebody else jumped on them.

For most people, however, the real world provides a different scenario. Getting a book into an editor’s hands is a difficult and time-consuming process, and even if successful it often results in the publication of a couple thousand paperbacks which will stay on bookstore shelves for a few weeks. They will receive no fanfare or publicity beyond what the author provides, and after a couple months they’ll be removed from the shelf; the covers will be stripped off; the books will go into a dumpster, and the covers will be mailed back to the publisher for credit. The book will never earn out the author’s advance; the rights to the book will forever remain with the publisher, and the author won’t be able to sell another book to that imprint without changing his or her name (because the accounting department will never forget that their first book wasn’t a hit).1st-rounder

I apologize if my admittedly jaded view of the “traditional” method puts a dent in anyone’s enthusiasm. I’m merely being realistic. The odds of an anonymous writer making it big on their first novel are about the same as the average Pee-wee Football player’s chances of being drafted by the NFL in the first round. It’s on a par with the chances of any kid who moves to New York or Hollywood in hopes of becoming a star by standing in line at open casting calls.

The truth is, there are way more gifted people available than the system needs. It applies to publishing, movies, recording, professional sports–just about any field based solely on talent. And the really crazy thing, the thing that makes so many of us scratch our heads or swear or groan, is that many of the people who do make it really aren’t that good. Some of them just, simply, suck.

But, back to the main point: production. How much do you need to write? How many words should you aim to churn out in a day, a week, or a month? What’s the norm? What’s reasonable?

If there were a magic number, I’d gladly share it with you. How much you write depends on you and the demands on your time. Writing a novel is a tough job; it can take a very long time. On the other hand, it’s possible to crank out a damned good story in a very short time. I wrote and edited my first solo novel, Resurrection Blues, in six weeks. (That’s a record for me, one I’m unlikely to duplicate.)

I think two pages a day is a very reasonable target. Others will disagree. If I’m on a roll, I’ll produce a whole lot more than that. If I’m doing my taxes, or taking care of my grandkids, or bathing the dog, I’m not going to write much of anything. (Bathing the dog is exhausting!)

glassOddly, my bourbon consumption will remain fairly steady whether I’m writing, painting the house, building a deck or taking my grandkids to the zoo. If I approached writing the way I approach Kentucky’s finest, I’d get a helluva lot more written.

How much should you expect of yourself? As much as you can do. Try to write every day. If you can do two pages, that’s awesome. More is better. Less is okay provided you try to make up the difference later.

Two pages is about 500 words. The average novel is about 90,000 words. So, at 500 words a day, you should be able to write two novels a year and still have nearly a whole week to just goof off.

So, get busy!

–Josh

About joshlangston

Grateful and well-loved husband, happy grandparent, novelist, editor, and teacher. My life plate is full, and I couldn't be happier. Anything else I might add would be anticlimactic. Cheers!
This entry was posted in novel writing, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to How much is enough?

  1. Bathing the dog *is* exhausting. I have to bathe the old dog this week. I have to pick an evening when I don’t want to get anything else done.

  2. Very good point Josh! It’s a discipline, write every day, or at least organize your notes. After years of piddling around, I finally set myself a task to spend some time each day, usually morning after that second cup of coffee. My mind is fresh, not full of the crap that comes at me during the day. Evenings can be good, however you’re probably not at your best. Look at writing as something youI actually enjoy and look forward to each day. Like that glass of Bourbon.

  3. joshlangston says:

    Bravo, Gerry! You get it. I wish more nascent writers–especially the budding novelists among us–could do the same.

Leave a Reply

