Aw geez, another textbook?

Another textbook? Yeah. Another one. And one that makes me pretty damned proud.

naked-truth-front-coverI spend a great deal of time with folks my age and older, and the one thing many of us have in common is the desire to leave something behind–some insights into what made us the people we’ve become. Many of us, myself included, hope our children and grandchildren will one day cherish knowing how we grew up; how we faced the crises of our generations; how we endured the challenges that came our way.

The sticking point is knowing they couldn’t care less right now. They’re kids, at least compared to our generations. And to be brutally honest, when we were their age, we didn’t give a damn about where our parents and grandparents came from either. Now, however, most of us would kill to have some written record of our ancestors’ lives. I sure would. And that’s why I wrote this book.

For many people, the best way to provide family and personal information is via memoir. But for that same crowd, just getting started–let alone finishing–can be a monumental task. Where do you start? What do you include? What will dear old Aunt Ammonia say?

Navigating these bizarre corridors can be time-consuming and energy-depleting. So, those are two more reasons why I wrote the book. A memoir doesn’t have to be *that* tough. Buried in there somewhere are laughs and lighter moments. There must be, else we wouldn’t have survived this long or have the desire to write about what we went through. Our kids and grandkids will care, one day. It’s an absolute, guaranteed, gonna happen deal.

You owe it to yourself and your survivors to tell them your story. I just wanted to make that job a little easier. Anyway, that’s my raison d’etre. There are certainly worse reasons for writing a book. I’d love to hear yours!

–Josh

About joshlangston

Grateful and well-loved husband, happy grandparent, novelist, editor, and teacher. My life plate is full, and I couldn't be happier. Anything else I might add would be anticlimactic. Cheers!
This entry was posted in Memoir, Writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Aw geez, another textbook?

  1. Karen Boyce says:

    The new book is done? Yea! When may I order it? I need it because one of these days 😉 I’ll get back to the memoir I started!

  2. joshlangston says:

    You can order it right now on Amazon. Or, if you promise to say nice things about it, I *might* be willing to send you an ARC (Advance Review Copy). Just lemme know!

    • Karen Boyce says:

      Hi, I decided to order like a real customer! But thanks for the offer. (I’ll still say. Ice things about your book).

  3. Leaving a piece of family history is so important. I spent many years collecting data and facts, names, dates, etc… but never really told much about people in the family. Recently completed a 3rd. edition of our family history, and this time told a story. Weaving a family story into genealogy is easier than you think.

  4. margot baxter says:

    Hi Josh, Even though my memoir has been published, I’ll be sure to buy your book because you present your ideas in an interesting, humorous way.  I think you have found your real nichein teaching what you have learned the hard way.Although I’m not participating in Elm, I’m going to try to make it there for lunch on the last day. If soI’ll let you know.  I can bring a few copies of my book and buy your new one at that time.  You stillhave the copy of my 50th class reunion speech which I would like to have back.I have been taking a Windows 10 computer class at East Cobb.  Quentin did his three hour Western History presentation there on Friday and it was very interesting.How are you doing on your planned move? I think you said your present house is already sold.

    • joshlangston says:

      Thanks for the compliment, Margot. It’s much appreciated. We’d love to have your book available at the ELM bookstore. Please bring a few copies so folks can see it. I’ll have your speech and copies of The Naked Truth! on hand, too. Our move comes in early November. We can’t wait!

Leave a Reply

