Geez, I’ve been writing my head off…

Vintage_Headless_Man…and now I find out, I’m not the first!

I’ve generated something like 17,878 actual, useable, readable words over the past few days. I’ve made precisely zero friends in the process, but I’m edging ever closer to the end of the work-in-progress. In my jaded youth I might’ve been tempted to say I worked another part of my anatomy off, but frankly, that’s way too complicated to illustrate. And besides, it makes me queasy. So, n’mind.headless3

Lest anyone be concerned that I’m really headless (as opposed to merely having my head stuck somewhere else, like, well, out of sight), you can relax. It’s simply a figure of speech. Still, it intrigued me enough to look for headless people who may or may not have done any writing.

nohead Needless to say, the internet provides an astonishing array of possibilities. But these vintage pix were the only ones that captured what’s left of my imagination.

Unfortunately, I have no idea if any of the folks pictured here were even literate, let alone writerly. But they did provide me with a topic, of sorts, and now I can get back to some important work–namely hammering out the conclusion to A Primitive in Paradise.

If I can keep writing my head off, I should be able to finish it by [drum roll, please] the end of the month.

Or not.

It’s damned hard to say. My good guys are all in trouble, and my bad guys are all looking pretty smarmy. The words are certainly piling up, but the idea mill is running on fumes. Can you hear the wheezing?

Josh stocks ECUMaybe I just need to clear my head, and since it’s already off, the job should be fairly simple.

More, soon.

–Josh

[Ed Note: These pix weren’t digitally diddled; they were produced long before PhotoShop. It’s my understanding they were the result of some skillful 19th century darkroom work.]

[Random thought: Maybe I should whip up a character named Ed Note….]

About joshlangston

Grateful and well-loved husband, happy grandparent, novelist, editor, and teacher. My life plate is full, and I couldn't be happier. Anything else I might add would be anticlimactic. Cheers!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Geez, I’ve been writing my head off…

  1. polinto says:

    This was cute! I read it earlier, but forgot to say anything.

  2. joshlangston says:

    Well, thank you! It’s nice to be noticed. [smile]

  3. kathils says:

    Not sure how I missed this. Quite amusing. I love the headless photos. I haven’t written my head off, I just feel like it’s missing. I’d look for it, but that’s hard to do without eyes. Perhaps my head needs to look for the rest of me?

  4. joshlangston says:

    I dunno. The technique didn’t do much for Marie Antoinette as I recall.

Leave a Reply

