A break from {cough} academe

DSC02439Sometimes it’s nice to drift away from serious subjects, like writing and teaching and intergalactic problem solving, and well… just goof off. It may be shocking to some, but I’m really not always the studious, furrow-browed, creative genius that I sometimes appear to be. For instance, in this casual snapshot, my bride caught me communing with the hounds over who might actually score the last slice of pizza. Note the intensity of Bailey’s eyes versus Shasta’s hysterical squint (and my usual oblivious expression). I think Annie actually got the food, though I could be wrong. It’s been awhile.

So now that I’m between serious posts, and haven’t been motivated to write about the Christmas season we’re currently cruising through, I thought I’d just ramble a bit. I can tell you’re thrilled, right? And then I realized everyone’s going to be too busy to read one old guy’s thoughts on the state of nothing in particular. Shocking, I know.

So instead, I’ll just wish everyone a hearty Christmas and a healthy New Year. Do everything you can to stay happy. You’ll live longer and enjoy the extra time a whole lot more.

God bless!

–Josh

About joshlangston

Grateful and well-loved husband, happy grandparent, novelist, editor, and teacher. My life plate is full, and I couldn't be happier. Anything else I might add would be anticlimactic. Cheers!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A break from {cough} academe

  1. kathils says:

    Shasta’s expression is priceless!

  2. Jeffro says:

    Merry Christmas to you too. See ya soon.

  3. polint says:

    Merry Christmas to both you and Annie!

  4. Cedric Gifford says:

    You tell of leaving the reality of the world immersed in the traditions of Christmas: Santa, Scrooge, Rudolph, Grinch, and even The Manger: they all seem very remote here on the island of Kauai.

    Christmas morning on this tropical island is as basic as the Garden of Eden. The rest is just superfluous. God created and here we are relaxed in peace and blessed in plenty. Politics is a 96 year old gentleman; the Mayor of Salt Pond Beach, who plays and sings with his ukeleili every day. And baptism is getting up and diving into the surf now and then. In this garden, God seems very close by. Little effort is necessary to converse with Him. Peace and Goodwill abounds……………..
    and the living is easy.

    Happy New Year to all of you who will soon be starting ELMS, one of the good things of life in Marietta. We all appreciate you Brother Josh.

Leave a Reply

